January 2, 2018 Reorganization Meeting – Council Chambers Millersburg, Pennsylvania

<u>Meeting Call to Order</u> – Mayor Richard Ibberson called to order the Reorganization Meeting of the Millersburg Borough Council at 7:20PM with Cl'ms Boyer, Dietz and Ibberson present. Manager McGann and Secretary Jackson were also present. The invocation was given by Cl'm Dietz, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance.

Guests – Cheryl Ibberson, Kristin Ibberson, Debbie Margavage, Alexander Reber, Joanne Wilt and Ruthie Wilt.

<u>Presentation of Certificates of Election</u> – Secretary Jackson reported that all Certificates of Election have been received.

<u>Swearing in of Newly Elected Mayor, Council Members and Tax Collector</u> – Secretary Jackson administered the Oath of Office to Richard D. Ibberson as Mayor; Brent E. Boyer, Christopher C. Dietz, and Gary E. Ibberson as Councilmen; and Alexander R. Reber as Tax Collector.

Nomination and Election of Council President – Mayor Ibberson conducted the election of Council President, calling for nominations. Cl'm Boyer nominated Cl'm Dietz for President. There were no other nominations. Mayor Ibberson declared Cl'm Dietz Borough Council President.

The meeting was then turned over to President Dietz.

Nomination and Election of Council Vice-President – President Dietz called for nominations for Council Vice-President. Cl'm Boyer nominated Cl'm Ibberson for the office of Vice-President. There were no other nominations. President Dietz declared Cl'm Ibberson Borough Council Vice-President.

Nomination and Election of Council President Pro Tempore – President Dietz called for nominations for Council President Pro Tempore. Cl'm Ibberson nominated Cl'm Boyer for the office of President Pro Tempore. There were no other nominations. President Dietz declared Cl'm Boyer Borough Council President Pro Tempore.

<u>Appointment of Solicitor</u> – Motion by Cl'm Ibberson, seconded by Cl'm Boyer to reappoint Terrence J. Kerwin of Kerwin and Kerwin as Borough Solicitor. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Engineers</u> – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to reappoint Brinjac Engineering for large projects and William Burch and Associates for smaller projects as Borough Engineers. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Sewage Enforcement Officer</u> – Motion by Cl'm Ibberson, seconded by Cl'm Boyer to reappoint Michael Brown as Sewage Enforcement Officer. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Auditor</u> – Motion by Cl'm Ibberson, seconded by Cl'm Boyer to appoint J. H. Williams as Borough Auditor. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Zoning, Building Code and Property Maintenance Code Administrator</u> – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to appoint Borough Manager Chris McGann as the Borough's Zoning, Building Code and Property Maintenance Code Administrator. Motion carried.

Appointment of Emergency Management Coordinator and Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator – Motion by Cl'm Ibberson, seconded by Cl'm Boyer to reappoint Sean Grimm and John Brabits as Emergency Management Coordinator and Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator respectively. Motion carried.

<u>Appointment of Borough Manager</u> – Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to reappoint Chris McGann as Borough Manager.

<u>Appointment of Secretary-Treasurer</u> – Motion by Cl'm Ibberson, seconded by Cl'm Boyer to reappoint Ann Bowman Jackson as Borough Secretary-Treasurer. Motion carried.

Unfinished Business – None.

New Business

Borough Resolution No. 18-01 — This resolution provides for newly elected Tax Collector Alexander Reber to deputize the Dauphin County Treasurer to collect real estate taxes for the Borough. Secretary Jackson was directed to add a signature line for the elected Tax Collector. Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to approve Borough Resolution No. 18-01. Motion carried.

<u>Dauphin County Treasurer Agreement</u> – Council reviewed the agreement between the Borough and the Dauphin County Treasurer's Office providing for the collection of real estate taxes. Motion by Cl'm Ibberson, seconded by Cl'm Boyer to approve the agreement as presented. Motion carried.

<u>USDA Grant Application Approval</u> – Manager McGann is applying for a grant for 35% of the purchase price of the new police vehicle. Council approval is required for this application. Motion by Cl'm Boyer, seconded by Cl'm Ibberson to approve the application. Motion carried.

<u>Committee Assignments</u> – President Dietz suggested keeping the same assignments as 2017.

- Economic Development Chairman Dietz, Cl'ms Boyer and Wolfe
- Employee Relations Chairman Wolfe and Cl'm Dietz
- Finance Chairman Breach, Cl'ms Ibberson and Wolfe
- Parks & Rec. Chairman Boyer and Cl'm Wolfe
- Property Cl'ms Boyer and Breach
- Public Safety Chairman Ibberson, Cl'm Breach and Mayor Ibberson
- Streets –Cl'ms Boyer and Dietz

Organization Representative Assignments – President Dietz volunteered to be Council's representative to Dauphin-Lebanon County Borough's Association and Upper Dauphin COG. Cl'm Ibberson will serve as the Fire Company liaison and Cl'm Boyer offered to serve as liaison for the Millersburg Pool Board and the Ferry Boat Board. President Dietz directed Secretary Jackson to contact the various organizations to request their meeting times and locations for Council's information.

President Dietz reminded Cl'ms about circulating their petitions for signatures to reduce the size of the Council. The petitions will be reviewed on January 10th. Manager McGann was directed to email the absent Cl'ms regarding same.

Motion by Cl'm Ibberson, seconded by Cl'm Boyer to adjourn the meeting at 8:10PM. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted, Ann Bowman Jackson Borough Secretary